Archive | 8:04 pm

02/08 Dissertation Progress: the panic sets in

2 Aug

This might turn into a short series of regular posts as I’m working on my MA dissertation (due 7 September). 20,000 words.

  • My room is finally in some sort of order. This means that I have no excuse and I should start writing my dissertation in a constructive manner.
  • I picked up a couple more books from the library yesterday. I found one which is quite basic, but incredibly helpful in giving me the bigger picture of the period I’m dealing with. Great to ease me back into working on my dissertation.
  • I’ve spent a long time researching and reading since January, but I haven’t done any constructive writing yet. This has to change NOW.
  • I jotted down some thoughts while reading a book today. Maybe they’re the first “proper” words that will make it to the final draft of my dissertation?
  • I’ve cleared my schedule as much as possible, and finished all errands and bits and bobs as much as I could, so that now I’m looking at a long stretch of time over the next 4 weeks which is going to (it has to) be devoted to dissertation-dissertation-dissertation.
  • All dissertation-related books and papers are neatly stacked by my desk in my room. That’s a good step to have completed.
  • I’m not sure where I’m going to be more productive. I might try and pop over to a postgraduate study room or the awesome new wing of our Bill Bryson Library, maybe that will be conducive to productivity.
  • Now I’m going to read more of my more basic and “easy” book, and perhaps jot down a few more thoughts. I really should acquaint myself more intimately with my dissertation structure, too. Maybe I can treat this as four or five long essays, and then work on merging them together later. Hmmm.

*eats a dried apricot*

Things I Love Thursday

2 Aug

  • Dundee!
  • The loveliest hosts in Dundee! They were amazing and so hospitable and they introduced me to Asti.
  • The Olympic Opening Ceremony
  • The Olympics! So many good moments.
  • A formal at my college
  • St Andrews – so picturesque
  • Running on the beach at St Andrews – like a complete idiot
  • Froot Loops
  • Our new house (still!) – it’s amazing (and a little overwhelming) to be RIGHT in the thick of one of Durham’s busiest streets as soon as I walk off our doorstep
  • Principles
  • Department stores
  • Charity shops
  • Oreos crushed in Birthday Cake flavoured milk shakes(!)
  • Fluffy pancakes with maple syrup at a proper pancake parlour
  • More unpacking
  • BB cream – blusher – highlighter (best make-up combination this week)
  • Revenge – just started this TV series – quite addictive, but I don’t see myself watching it if it stretches to a lot of seasons
  • Red nail polish – effortlessly classic