02/08 Dissertation Progress: the panic sets in

2 Aug

This might turn into a short series of regular posts as I’m working on my MA dissertation (due 7 September). 20,000 words.

  • My room is finally in some sort of order. This means that I have no excuse and I should start writing my dissertation in a constructive manner.
  • I picked up a couple more books from the library yesterday. I found one which is quite basic, but incredibly helpful in giving me the bigger picture of the period I’m dealing with. Great to ease me back into working on my dissertation.
  • I’ve spent a long time researching and reading since January, but I haven’t done any constructive writing yet. This has to change NOW.
  • I jotted down some thoughts while reading a book today. Maybe they’re the first “proper” words that will make it to the final draft of my dissertation?
  • I’ve cleared my schedule as much as possible, and finished all errands and bits and bobs as much as I could, so that now I’m looking at a long stretch of time over the next 4 weeks which is going to (it has to) be devoted to dissertation-dissertation-dissertation.
  • All dissertation-related books and papers are neatly stacked by my desk in my room. That’s a good step to have completed.
  • I’m not sure where I’m going to be more productive. I might try and pop over to a postgraduate study room or the awesome new wing of our Bill Bryson Library, maybe that will be conducive to productivity.
  • Now I’m going to read more of my more basic and “easy” book, and perhaps jot down a few more thoughts. I really should acquaint myself more intimately with my dissertation structure, too. Maybe I can treat this as four or five long essays, and then work on merging them together later. Hmmm.

*eats a dried apricot*

5 Responses to “02/08 Dissertation Progress: the panic sets in”

  1. east coast August 2, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    The research is the most crucial part. Once you’ve got the material, it’s just the tedious process of writing, rewriting and endless self-doubt until you hit print and take it for binding. I’m sure you’ll do well.

    • clairecommando August 2, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

      Thanks! I’ve certainly done my research. Now I just need to get back into the frame of mind where all I’m thinking about is my dissertation topic, and then the tedious process of writing, etc., as you said. :) Problem is that I’m quite unsure of how I’m going to patch the entire thing together (I’ve never written anything that long). I’m sure it will work out though.

      • east coast August 3, 2012 at 12:33 am #

        The best way is to start writing, because you’ll then have more time for rewriting, which is where the magic happens. Research, apart from being crucial, is also the most time-consuming aspect as you sometimes need to have ideas develop in your head, independently of research, and that takes time.

        • clairecommando August 3, 2012 at 1:13 am #

          Thanks for your words of encouragement :)
          I can’t wait for some of that “magic” to happen. But, as you said, I really need to start writing. Anything. Even if it will be completely rewritten, I guess.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Some Stuff I Bought During the Latter Part of 2012 (Part 2) « Claire's (online) Chronicles - February 2, 2013

    […] sticks during Dissertation Time from a shop called The Georgian Window in Durham. They filled the room with amazing […]

Let me know what you think! =)

