Waiting…

19 Apr

Throughout my life as a student – also known as my life in its entirety – I’ve always felt like I’ve been playing a waiting game, until the next thing that comes along.

A’ levels, my first degree, second graduation, MA at a foreign university, back in law in Malta…

And once that next thing comes along, it immediately becomes another waiting game for the next thing to aspire to.

This is more of an issue because of acquaintances. I’ll be asked by a random acquaintance what I do, and I’d feel like my state-of-being is inadequate. Right now, for example, regardless of the letters after my name and all my achievements, I still feel uncomfortable saying that I’m just “a law student”, because I say that, and then I immediately qualify it with a quick “oh, but I’m hoping to sit for the warrant exam and be a notary this time next year”.

After all that is over, I bet it will still not be enough. I’ll be all eager to confirm with people that, even though I’ve gotten my warrant, “I’m just about to finish the Doctor of Laws course”.

When is it enough? Why isn’t it ever enough?

3 Responses to “Waiting…”

  1. Colette April 19, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    I think you will have a tough time once you finish all the studying and start working full time. It will get better once you get used to the idea that there is no other course in line for you to follow

  2. dejvid April 19, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

    Spot on, Claire.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. April Favourites! <3 | Claire's (online) Chronicles - May 1, 2013

    […] Writing a relatively unusual post for this blog about my discomfort with always feeling like I’m ‘waiting’ for the next thing. It was well-received and so very relieving to get off my chest. […]

Let me know what you think! =)

