February Favourites! <3

6 Mar

Feb 2013 Favourites 1

February is my least favourite month of the year. This year I was hoping it would be a pleasant one, but NO-SIR-EE. It was mostly awful. I spent most of it ill with the flu in bed (ugh ugh ugh), and the cold weather bothered me lots. I also received a sudden barrage of bad news that knocked me down that little bit more. Let’s just say that I certainly wasn’t myself for most of the month.

The highlight of the month was a week-long trip to Paris. It was superb. I had a blast and ate oh-so-much food. A Paris post will follow shortly with tips and tidbits of Amazing Things to See + Eat + Do in Paris. It’s going to be packed with awesome stuff!

Anyway. I still have a few favourites from the month of February, even though most of it was spent in bed feeling super-sorry for myself. First, there’s Blistex MedPlus For Lips, which is a little blue tub of lip balm. It works so well – the menthol in it makes my lips tingle, but the balm’s moisturising powers are incredibly quick and effective.  Then there’s my favourite book of the month: Kazuo Ishiguro’s The Remains of the Day. I adore Never Let Me Go, so I wasn’t so sure about how this would fare, even though I had heard amazing things. However, this masterpiece of a book was so readable and intimate in its own strange way. The fact that most of it is set in the inter-war period (one of my favourite periods.) was even better for a history-nerd like me. The characters were touching, the narrator (and protagonist) was such a sweet man (set in his ways yet adorably so). It was a fantastic book which I highly recommend if you’d like something really well written and highly readable.

Since I was so sick and house-bound, I sent my lovely boyfriend to the local toy shop to buy me a 1,000-piece jigsaw puzzle. He got me The Kiss, which is absolutely gorgeous (and it has been a real toughie). I still haven’t finished it (the brown background has been impossible), but I’m hoping to fit the last pieces together soon. The last favourite item that’s pictured is the Real Techniques buffing brush. I also mentioned this in last month’s favourites post, but I was totally using it all wrong. I had only used it for powder, but hadn’t realised that it would be fantastic for liquid foundation! Seriously impressed with this one.

Other assorted favourites:

  • The TV show Chopped
  • Pancakes with Nutella
  • My red coat (always.)
  • Paris
  • Naps
  • Buttered popcorn (i.e. plain microwave popcorn (still warm), microwaved lump of butter (freshly melted), all mixed together) – actual heaven.
  • Skyfall (really enjoyed this Bond film)
  • Foie Gras (!!)
  • My boyfriend (he’s a favourite every month and a regular feature on my TILTs but during this month he had moments of particularly-lovely loveliness)
  • French people
  • Cider – definitely my drink of choice (closely followed by red wine)
  • My favourite album of the month is definitely Biffy Clyro’s Opposites which was released at the end of January. I did mention it indirectly on last month’s favourites post, but it deserves a proper mention this time ’round (because my copy finally arrived in the mail, and I’ve listened to it several times in my car). Splendid stuff.
  • France
  • Boulangeries (fresh croissants au beurre! OH MY.)

Let me know if you’ve also loved (or you’ve hated!) anything I mentioned. Let’s hope March brings more favourites and happy times (it’d better… it’s my birthday month!).

6 Responses to “February Favourites! <3”

  1. dejvid March 6, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

    I think you forgot to mention coffee…

    • clairecommando March 6, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

      HAHAHA. True. :P
      I actually bought myself an espresso this morning. IT WAS AMAZING.

  2. rainb0wbubbles March 6, 2013 at 3:25 pm #

    How was the foie gras? Did you feel incredibly guilty, or is it absolutely wonderful?

    • clairecommando March 6, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

      It sucks that the practices in France are often a little unethical and the conditions of the ducks + geese aren’t very good at all.
      (IT WAS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL.)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sunday Photo Mishmash: Paris, and a March swim! | Claire's (online) Chronicles - March 10, 2013

    […] few posts written by me this week which you might have missed: Favourites, Electoral Difficulties, Paris Travel […]

  2. April Favourites! <3 | Claire's (online) Chronicles - May 1, 2013

    […] month was certainly better than February and March, yahoo! I was ridiculously productive (for the most part) and survived relatively […]

Let me know what you think! =)

