January Favourites! <3

4 Feb

I’m starting a new regular feature on my blog (echoing lots of other bloggers’ “monthly favourites” posts and lots of video bloggers’ “monthly favourites” videos) – monthly favourites! These will be blog posts with my favourite things from the past month. They will go up within the first week of the following month. You all know how I’m all about the gratitude. Well, these are going to be like my TILTs, but on a whole new (monthly) level. And they’ll be more product based, but rest assured, there will be a few random (more abstract) things in there too.

So without further ado, my January favourites!

Owl-shaped bag: this was a Christmas present from one of my best friends. She bought if for me from a market in Southampton, and I’ve gotten so many compliments and comments on it. It’s really fun and sweet. I wore it non-stop during the Christmas holidays.

Gold necklace with a ‘C’ pendant: I bought this from BHS in Durham. You can’t really see it in the photo above, but it’s really dainty and sweet.

Dark blue woolly snood: this snood has been such a cuddly, snuggly companion to me on cold days! I bought it from Primark last summer (I think) from the Metrocentre in Gateshead (I think). It was £5 and it is amazing. Best thing is that it makes my head look marginally smaller, which is Very Desirable To Me.

Constellations: this is a play by Nick Payne which one of my friends mentioned to me earlier this month. I looked it up on Google, read that it is Amazingness Itself, and hopped over to play.com to purchase it. I read it in about an hour and it’s such a good ‘un. Highly recommended. (It’s also going to be put up by WhatsTheirNames Theatre in April – so watch out for that!)

Tresemmé 24 Hour Body Amplifying Mousse: this is my favourite hair mousse, and when I came back from Durham I couldn’t find it ANYWHERE in Malta. When we visited Durham, my Mum nabbed a bottle for me from Boots, and my hair has been thanking her ever since.

Rose water: this stuff was a Christmas present from one of my best friends, and it has been so much fun to use it. I’ve been using it almost every morning or night. The smell is amazing and it is an excellent toner. Soothing, and takes off any traces of make-up. I’ve also been slipping it into my lathered hair while washing it.

Soap & Glory Clean On Me shower gel: this stuff is SO GOOD. I love it in so many ways. Its pump dispenses the perfect amount. The smell is lovely. The way it lathers is just right. And it’s all pink and fun.

The tangle teezer: this brush is from lookfantastic.com (which has free worldwide shipping!) and has really helped with my mane of tangled hair. It’s good to use when hair is either wet or dry, and it’s purple and sparkly. The fact that it doesn’t have a handle is a bit annoying… but the “ergonomic” (or whatever…) shape is supposed to fit your hand perfectly. It does, but I still tend to lose grip. I dunno.

Black Primark shoes: these flat shoes were a few pounds from Primark. They fit really well, they’re very sweet, I love them. The perfect replacement for my old, tattered Primark ballerina flats.

Collection Lasting Perfection concealor: this is the best concealor ever. And it’s extremely cheap. Pity it’s not available in Malta. But I’m all stocked up – don’t worry. The writing on the packaging rubs off almost immediately, but otherwise, it’s perfection. Over pimples, over red areas, under the eyes. Good stuff.

A cigar: my boyfriend and I bought two of these from the Durham Indoor Market. We “smoked” them after our graduation. I say “smoked” because I did not inhale at all and only “used up” about 3mm of cigar. It came in such a pretty case though, and the smell/taste/whatever was actually really pleasant. Having said that, I don’t smoke at all, I only smoked because I got a Master’s degree and I wanted to celebrate in a slightly wacky way, and please don’t smoke because it is disgusting, thank you.

Real Techniques brushes: I bought these from the Metrocentre Boots in Gateshead when I went up a few weeks ago. The stippling brush and the buffing brush (shown) are my favourites. They’re so great for applying make-up. The stippling brush especially. Airbrush effect application of foundation/BB cream? Yes, please!

A pink Swarovski pen: I used this for my exam on Wednesday. It was a Christmas present from my aunt’s family, and it’s been lovely for (actual) writing.

New perfumes: I received a couple of perfumes for Christmas, and it’s been so nice to apply one or the other every day. Some may say that they seem like impersonal, easy-t0-get-wrong presents, but these two have been such hits with me that I wouldn’t have wanted anything else.

Oreos: I’ve had my fair share of Oreo milkshakes this month, and I’ve even attempted my own (which turned out thick and YUMMEH). It’s a pity they are SO expensive from Malta, but that’s not stopping me. They are tasty and creamy and they leave black crumbs all over my face for HOURS.

Other favourites:

  • My red coat from New Look.
  • Durham.
  • Highlighters. (Nice ones, in good colours like green and pink. Green has been a favourite this month, however.)
  • Biffy Clyro. (Their new album, their previous album. It’s all good.)
  • Swimming. I may have only swum once this year, but it was glorious. Definitely a favourite.
  • Blogilates. This is a strange one. I heard a recommendation from ClothesEncounters on YouTube where she said that this YouTube channel is fantastic for working out, and I tried a couple of videos and they really are effective. Even though I do one, and then have to rest for a week. Hoping to work my way up to doing one a day, maybe? One day…

So that’s it. Those are some of my favourites for the month. Let me know what you think, and whether you like this sort of thing. Compiling this post was great fun (even though I filled my entire house with droplets of water as I walked around with the wet shower gel bottle! Oops…).

2 Responses to “January Favourites! <3”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Things I Love Thursday « Claire's (online) Chronicles - February 7, 2013

    […] Compiling a Favourites post (my first!) […]

  2. February Favourites! <3 | Claire's (online) Chronicles - March 6, 2013

    […] favourite item that’s pictured is the Real Techniques buffing brush. I also mentioned this in last month’s favourites post, but I was totally using it all wrong. I had only used it for powder, but hadn’t realised […]

Let me know what you think! =)

