Some Stuff I Bought During the Latter Part of 2012 (Part 1)

1 Feb

This is (Part 1 of) a haul of some stuff I bought during the latter part of 2012. It includes things purchased while I was still in pretty Durham. The giant cupcake above isn’t part of this haul; my Mum bought it for me when she went on a trip to Rome.

I bought this BB Cream on Ebay after a recommendation from a girl called Codie on YouTube. A little goes a long way, but I do like it very much (and it’s so cheap!).

 

This is the Real Techniques expert face brush. It’s not my favourite make-up brush, but it’s great for touching up with powder and applying a little blusher.

This Stila cream blusher was a little bit of an impulse purchase from the massive Boots at Westfield’s in Shepherd’s Bush, but it’s a really lovely product, and the colour suits me very well. And cream blusher lasts much longer than powder blusher!

The colour is Lilium.

A cheap bronzer from Superdrug by MUA. It’s OK.

The lovely Korres Wild Rose Lip Butter.

Effective relief for chapped lips (this was a Godsend in chilly London) with Blistex’s Relief Cream.

The new Mumford & Sons album: Babel. Brilliance. Buy it.

Soap and Glory Sexy Mother Pucker Gloss Stick. This doesn’t last very long on the lips, but it smells/tastes AMAZING and it looks wonderful.

The famous Bourjois Bronzing Powder which looks and smells like chocolate, and some Essie nail polish in the colour Status Symbol. The bronzer barely leaves any colour on my face though. The nail polish is lovely, but stains my nails. (More on the Essie nail polishes later.)

These are some Aveda samples I got in a beauty box. I loved these. I wish I could afford their full sizes.

The smell is amazing, and my hair was so beautifully soft.

Pretty cheap earrings from ASDA.

Gorgeous shoes from ASDA. These were £2. Seriously.

Soap and Glory Sugar Crush Body Scrub. The smell is divine, and the scrub is pretty effective. I don’t use it as much as I should.

Essie nail polish in Bikini So Teeny!

This nail polish. I did not enjoy it. Maybe you can see it on my nails and in the bottle, but it seemed like it was 20 years old and kept creating discolouration at the edges. And it chipped really quickly. No. Do not like. (The pink nail polish I mentioned earlier in this post is great though – nothing like this one’s formulation. Although my nails do not enjoy these nail polishes, whatever the colour.)

Part 2, coming soon!

8 Responses to “Some Stuff I Bought During the Latter Part of 2012 (Part 1)”

  1. pauline February 1, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

    nail polishes that stain my nails are a constant problem for those I buy, which brand would you recommend to avoid this?? :)

    • clairecommando February 1, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

      I’ve actually only had a problem with staining with the Essie nail polishes! With other brands such as Rimmel London, I’ve really not had any problems! :) Let me know if you’re doing well with any particular brand! :) (And thanks for the comment!) :) x

      • pauline February 1, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

        really! I use mainly l’oreal and it always stains but I’m too lazy to look for something else. ‘I’ll try that one then! cheers, hope you are well :)

        • clairecommando February 1, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

          I don’t think I’ve ever used L’Oreal – maybe I’d have the same problem.
          Hope you’re also well! :)

  2. Raylene February 1, 2013 at 8:55 pm #

    I just bought a BB Cream too!! Garnier…it was only about 10-11 euro and it is AMAZING!!

    • clairecommando February 1, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

      The Garnier one is my favourite!! I finished up my tube and wanted to try others – but I’m definitely buying another one ASAP, as soon as I finish the ones I have. :D

      • Raylene February 2, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

        I love it most on those days that I can’t bear to get out of my cozy bed until 15 minutes before I need to leave and all I need is that, concealer (elf <3), powder, blush, eyeliner, and mascara! *sigh* god bless garnier…

Let me know what you think! =)

