Sanctuary Spa Winter Facial-in-a-Box (review)

7 Dec

Sanctuary Spa (Covent Garden) Winter Facial in a Box

Yesterday I had a free morning which I set aside for a little pampering session. My face was feeling a little tired (check out the BEFORE picture below…), and the Sanctuary Spa Winter Facial in-a-box was the perfect relaxing treat. Let’s get this straight: I loved it. And I wasn’t expecting to. I expected icky creams and a lot of standing around waiting for things to “sink in”. The whole process was actually very relaxing and straightforward. The steps were easy to follow, and the products all smelled amazing. The consistency of each product was also very soothing (particularly the face mask – more about that soon).

The box costs £20 and the whole spa-like treatment should last around 30 minutes.

The products in the box – little tubes, a mask sachet, and there’s a muslin cloth hidden underneath the sachet!

The box had really handy step-by-step instructions, and they weren’t in a flimsy leaflet but printed on the inside part of the flap that opens the box. This was really useful, because everything was laid out and ready to use.

The back of the box had some extra information (and ingredients) – which I’m including here so that you can get an idea of the products’ ingredients.

There’s the muslin cloth I referred to earlier!

The box also suggested soothing music and a fragrant candle. I followed the instructions dutifully, and the candle really added to the calming effect (I never light candles when I’m washing my face, so this was cool).

First, I cleansed my skin with the hot cloth cleanser. I’ve never tried anything like this (I’m dying to try the Liz Earle one!), and this way of cleansing felt so thorough and satisfying. I did have to use quite a lot of the cleanser cream to cover my entire face though.

The cleanser.

Then I exfoliated my skin with this scrub. The tiny beads in it were a little rough, but there were very few of them (unlike the St Ives Apricot Scrub for example), and the scent was SO GOOD.

The scrub.

Then I swept some serum over my face, neck and “décolletage” (tee hee), and relaxed for a few minutes.

The serum.

WARNING: THE SCARY PART. I then applied the face mask, which was incredibly smooth – and it gives the most curious sensation: it first goes warm and then cools – really cool.

The face mask!

Then there was an eye gel step, with a little going a long way.

Eye gel.

And finally, I patted on some moisturiser with SPF. I blew out my candle, and carried on with my day. SUCH an easygoing process.

A couple of before and after photos:

BEFORE: my tired face.

AFTER: my relaxed + pleased face (what a selfie… you can see me in the mirror and everything)

My face was so soft and touchable after this facial-in-a-box (boyfriend-approved as well) and I’m still seeing the effects a day later. What’s really great is that there’s TONNES left, so this isn’t just a one-time facial, but I think I can get up to four more uses (or maybe five?) out of the box. I could also use any left over products on their own (and they each have their own instructions on the backs of the tubes).

This box would also be an ideal Christmas present – I could see all sorts of people enjoying this (and people of all ages). Please let me know if you’ve tried this out and what you think of it. I’m definitely going for a stroll by the Sanctuary aisle at the Durham Boots when I’m in England in a few weeks’ time.

[Disclaimer: I was generously sent this super-awesome box for free, but I was under no obligation to review it or mention it in any way. Let me know if you have any questions about this.]

Let me know what you think! =)

