The March 2012 JolieBox

2 May

This is a little late, but I wanted to share it with you anyway. I ordered my first ever JolieBox in March, and I was very pleased with it. As a new subscriber, I even received a little extra treat (the Jane Iredale Just Kissed cheek and lip stain, below). This is actually supposed to change colour according to your mood or skin tone or something – which is quite strange – but I really think it’s a lovely little sample, and I really like it.

I originally ordered this box because I had read that this was going to be a box full of full-size products (apart from the stain which was a bonus). There were four full-size products, the lip and cheek stain as a bonus, and an EXTRA bonus – a little JolieBox mirror, which is really light and thin, and I’ve found it super handy to keep in my bag.

Out of the four other products, I was impressed by the huge 200ml Yardley Luxury Body Wash in Peony. The smell of it is amazing, and I think peonies are such fancy, lovely flowers. I haven’t used it yet because I might give it as a part of a present some time soon… :)

The nail polish is LCN nail polish, in a shimmery pinky shade. I put this on but it really didn’t suit me, and I’m not very fond of how iridescent and sheer it is. It retails at £5.50, but I’m definitely not buying one of these any time soon. I don’t think I’ll even ever wear it again.

There was also the Davines Authentic Moisturising Balm, which is 98% natural, and you can use it on your face, hair and body – although I’m only using it on my face. It’s quite an odd product, since you have to put it on your damp hair/body, and then after a few minutes you rinse it off. I’m not really keen on standing in my shower with the water off, so I’m only using this on my face – but I am very impressed by it as a face balm – it’s definitely moisturising and all-natural, while also taking any extra traces of make-up off.

Finally, there was an Eyeko Skinny Eyeliner in a brownish shade, which I have used a couple of times, but I’m not very pleased with it. The shade is a bit yucky, and the eyeliner itself isn’t performing as well as some of my other eyeliners do. I don’t know how to explain it exactly, but it goes on all smudgy and patchy. I’ll use it again, but will be steering clear of these eyeliners if I ever want to purchase one. Although the worst thing about it is probably the colour, which is more of a personal thing.

So that was my March JolieBox! There was also a little magazine – the JolieMag – inside, but I haven’t given it a proper flick-through yet. I wish these services were available in Malta – but I can understand how it is way too small a market for something like this. Hopefully some foreign Beauty Boxes will start shipping to other countries (e.g. EU countries – please?), so that Maltese girls can also sample some delightful brands.

JolieBox is £10 a month, plus P&P which is £2.95.

I cancelled my subscription after receiving the March box, but I’ve re-subscribed again for the May box (they had a special re-subscribing offer which meant that the box was about £5 cheaper!). I love receiving these boxes in the mail, and I’m very aware that sometimes they’re not all that worth the money, but I do not get one of each every month (usually just one every month or two), and I’ve found some really great products in most boxes. Sample-sized products are also fantastic for a traveller like me. =)

3 Responses to “The March 2012 JolieBox”

  1. alisondee May 3, 2012 at 10:04 am #

    Uff it really sucks that they don’t do this type of thing here :-(

    • clairecommando May 3, 2012 at 10:05 am #

      I agree! I couldn’t wait to get one when I moved here last September – it was totally one of my first-things-to-do. :D

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. May Challenge #26 – What’s in my bag? « Claire's (online) Chronicles - May 26, 2012

    […] A little mirror […]

Let me know what you think! =)

