Sunday Photo Mishmash: cider, the-best-bagel-ever, Ireland!

1 Apr

A tractor run on a nice sunny Sunday in the middle of Ireland. Obviously. (There were SCORES.)

Ireland is so green. So green. Beautiful.

I was calmly looking at our rental car’s sun visor, when I realised that the warning on there was also written in Maltese. Maybe it’s because we also have right-hand-driver cars. It was very amusing.

Cake on my birthday.

Sweeties on my birthday.

The view of far-off mountains from Mitchelstown, County Cork.

My birthday apple pie with fresh cream. Ohhh.

More home-made treats. Rocky road this time. Ohhh.

Cider (mine) and Guinness (my boyfriend’s) at a place called Kenmare.

Awesome Irish music at a place called Dingle – my favourite little Irish town.

The view from our breakfast table at our hostel in Dingle. Lovely. (The book is The Sense of an Ending and it was really good but really weird.)

On the Ring of Kerry, we stopped at a little cafeteria on top of a ceramics (or was it pottery?) shop. A little pricey, but insanely delicious food.

Nestling by a fireplace in Ballylanders, County Limerick. More cider, yes.

At a cafeteria in Ennistimon. The Best Bagel Ever. Avocados galore. And really tasty crisps (which I saved for later). A (top-notch) strawberry milkshake. And fresh daffodils I bought from some schoolgirls who were raising money for charity.

Baileys and Maltesers cheesecake for dessert. So rich.

At a pub in Galway. A nice fat pint of cider. Some ale for my boyfriend. And two young Irish men serenaded us with Irish songs.

I visited a Mongolian barbecue place for the first time in Dublin. Strange, good stuff. Not really my thing though.

Some of the best Irish music we saw. This was in Dublin. Awesome stuff.

Cider (again?!) with our early Saturday lunch. Of course.

More Irish music, on our final night in Ireland. (Yes, more cider.)

Freakishly red cider back in Durham (which I shared with an English friend + classmate).

A late night meal at our favourite Italian restaurant in Durham: La Spaghettata. Yummy stuff.

10 Responses to “Sunday Photo Mishmash: cider, the-best-bagel-ever, Ireland!”

  1. allaboutg April 1, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    Dingle is the cutest place isn’t it?! I bought a really quirky handmade shopper bag from a seamstress’ shop there :)

    • clairecommando April 1, 2012 at 11:57 am #

      It really is the loveliest. Really cute and Irish. People speaking Gaelic! It was all just incredible. Must go back :D

  2. alisondee April 1, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    Looks lovely… made my mouth water this morning hehe :-)

  3. Raylene April 1, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    This totally has nothing to do with your post today (although I am insanely jealous of you having gone to Ireland for your birthday, which was supposed to be what I did for my birthday this year but funding went to a car instead. Which, come to think of it, is green. Very Irish. But I digress…) but I’ve heard that glossybox have teamed up with Harrods for March…or something like that. It’s rumoured to have YSL and Molton Brown stuff. Not that I looked it up or anything XP

    • clairecommando April 1, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

      Bahahaha this is such an amusing comment! I love it.

      Yes yes I heard about the Glossybox thing! It was very impressive – but I read that the samples were teeny-tiny, and I only allow myself a box a month (sometimes two – but very rarely) – and I chose to get a Jolie box (www.joliebox.co.uk) (I was pleasantly surprised – they had a special full-size product box! So many nice things! Photos soon, obviously.)

      :) xxx

      • Raylene April 5, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

        *Sigh* I’m totally living vicariously through you right now. That’s what sucks about being in Malta…no one ever ships here or shipping is too expensive!

        • clairecommando April 6, 2012 at 12:33 am #

          Haha, please live vicariously through me! As soon as I moved to the UK I ordered a MILLION things, including a huge amount of free samples of stuff… it’s so great to have a UK address! (PS: I’m coming to Malta in May so if you’d ever like to order anything, email me, I’ll give you my address, and I can pop it over to Malta for you) :)

  4. Hillary April 2, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    I love all the pictures but cannot deny…this post made me immensely hungry!! haha

Let me know what you think! =)

