Off to Ireland!

16 Mar

It’s my 23rd birthday on Sunday 18 March 2012! Since I’m living in the UK this year, I’m making the most of my proximity to the more northern countries of Europe, so I’m hopping onto a plane with my beloved boyfriend, and heading over to the Awesome Republic of Ireland for a week.

Super cool, I know.

I’ve been to Ireland before, but that was when I was a young-ish teenager, with my parents. So now it’ll just be an Extra Awesome Adventure. I love growing older. Is that weird? I just seem to love myself more and feel more “me” with every year that goes by. So even if I’ve already visited a country or a place, if I visit it when I’m older, it automatically becomes a new, fresh, better experience.

We’ll be travelling all around the country, soaking up a lot of beautiful green scenery and dramatic views. I’m hoping to visit super-remote places, and super-adorable villages. I hope someone speaks Irish Gaelic to me. I hope I get to see lots of animals. I hope I get to eat the most divine food (particularly cakes and pastries and other sweet things, obviously). I hope I get to have a Super Special Birthday.

And we’ll even be there for St Patrick’s Day! How awesome is that? And thank God for inexpensive Ryanair flights, and my sweet parents who are sponsoring a big chunk of our travelling expenses (including a rental car *fingers crossed*).

I’ll be back on Sunday 25th, so things will be a bit quiet around here for a while. I do have a couple of scheduled posts though, and if I manage to find an Internet connection on Wednesday or Thursday I’ll have my regular TILT up as well. =)

Also, I probably won’t be around to link my posts onto Facebook, so please periodically click over here yourself to check whether new posts have gone up. =)

MOST IMPORTANTLY: comment below (or on Facebook) (or email me if you’re really shy) with tips and suggestions about Awesome Must-See Places in the greenest country in the world please! *so excited*

4 Responses to “Off to Ireland!”

  1. annmucc March 16, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    I went to Ireland last year over Easter. I really enjoy Galway and the Ring of Kerry, more than I did Dublin probably. They have much more charm. We had spent some 3/4 days in Kerry and 2/3 days in Galway. Really liked Kylemore Abbey there. And loved the Ring of Kerry, particularly a very small ferry we took to get to an island that is on the ring. I like your plan of going round the country (rather than just staying in DUblin, especially if you have a car!

    • clairecommando March 16, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      YES, I can’t wait to visit the Ring of Kerry. I’ve been around Ireland before (but not much of the South, and nothing of the West!), and I don’t think I need to see any more of Dublin. Kylemore Abbey has actually been recommended, so now it seems like a must-see. And whenever I visit a country or a new place, I really dislike simple city visits (apart from London perhaps, but even then, I almost always take a trip out to Oxford or something!) – I CRAVE the pretty countryside and remote places. Hopefully, hopefully, hopefully we’ll be renting a car. :)

  2. Giliane March 18, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    I love that you are loving getting older, because somehow I feel the same and can’t wait for my 25th soon. Wish you an amazing holiday and Happy Birthday =)

    • clairecommando March 25, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

      Oooh, the 25th is exciting! My birthday was very lovely – and Ireland was simply fantastic. Hope your birthday is great too! :)

Let me know what you think! =)

