She Said Beauty Box March 2012 Review

1 Mar

I’ve always been quite a fan of beauty boxes (the first time I heard about the American Birchboxached for one), and ever since I moved to the UK last September I just knew that I’d be ordering a few for myself (finally!).

I’ve received some Glossyboxes, Feel Unique beauty boxes (sadly discontinued), and Carmine beauty boxes. Most of them have introduced me to some really lovely products (even though they’re often too expensive for poor Claire the student to purchase full size). I usually only get a box after I’ve seen what it contains (I find out from blogs and youtube videos usually), but went I heard that there was a new beauty box available and that the first one was being sold at a reduced price, I thought “why not?”, and hoped that since it was the company’s first box, they’d be trying to impress.

So on to the review! I received the She Said Beauty box this morning, and it seems that I’m one of the first, which is brilliant. Since I’ve received quite a few other beauty boxes, I was eager to compare and contrast.

First impressions: the bright pink mailing box was very cheerful, but I almost spilled out the beauty box’s contents when trying to lift it out of the mailing box, due to the actual box being a little flimsy with a (not very strong) magnetic closure.

I lifted the box out (safely), and immediately realised that the quality of the actual box of the beauty box was much poorer than others. Glossybox, for example, have gorgeous and very sturdy boxes, whereas this is one which I might actually throw out (SHOCK! HORROR! – Because I adore boxes and hardly ever throw them out). It started falling apart as soon as I tried to open it. However, the design of the box is a lovely and very bright greeny-turquoise.

The packaging inside was your typical pink tissue paper (which was actually awfully crumpled), taped with a sticker and tied with a pink ribbon. I love ribbons.

Inside I could see the box’s card, with a welcome message and product information (on the flip side). As I turned the card I got a peek of the box’s contents. Nothing caught my eye with incredible excitement, but I was still very curious about what I had gotten.

More on the packaging: most beauty boxes have their products nestled in shredded paper, which is quite nice, but this shredded paper reminded me a little too much of straw and hay, so I’m not too sure about the luxury feel that it gave off (it was a certain lack of luxury feel). Also: as soon as I opened the box there was a really horrid chemical-y smell that came out – a definite turn-off, let me tell you.

I realised that they had put in a “bonus” item in the box – that of a very decadent looking Jing Flowering Dragon Eye Tea – which seems lovely and would probably make lots of English girls very excited – and I may be a UK resident, but I am still not a tea lover, so that item will have to be passed on to a friend.

The first item I looked at (after the tea) was an Orly nail polish in the colour Ancient Jade, which seems lovely, and oddly close to the nail polish I’m wearing right now (which I got at Primark for 50p). It seems to be full size though, so it’s a £5 product.

Then I realised that there was another bonus product in the box, because underneath everything I saw a large Orly nail file (nestled in the hay). I think that’s a very good bonus. I don’t have a nail file in the UK, so that’s awesome.

Then I noticed a “comfort zone” leaflet, which I tried to read but it was all bendy and weirdly shaped, so I just put it back down when I realised that it’s not a product. The comfort zone sample in the box is a “good night kit”, which is a face night anti-oxidant kit for stressed skin. It contains two teeny samples. I’m excited to try these out. Full size this would cost £52.95, ouch.

Then I picked up what I thought was a lip gloss, but oh no, it’s a Collection 2000 Cream Puff Moisturising Lip Cream, which seems like a lipstick in a cream form! I’m very intrigued about it, and when I swatched it on my hand it looked divine. I wasn’t too happy when I saw that it was a Collection 2000 product, since I could get it from Boots in a heart beat, and they’re very cheap products, but this might prove to be quite lovely. AND it’s a full size product (costing £2.99). AND if I really love it, it’s going to be really easy to purchase.

Then I opened a little box with Aveda products inside. It contains THREE hair product samples! This is a very generous box. They’re tiny samples, but I’m sure I’ll get one or two uses out of them, and they’re quite pricey for hair products – £15.50 (shampoo), £17.50 (conditioner), £18.50 (style-prep smoother).

The final product was hidden in a hole-of-hay, but when I fished it out I was very pleased. It is Premae Harmony Face Balm, and claims to moisturise the skin without over-greasing. I used a tiny bit of it and really liked it. It smells subtly like mangoes, and the full size 50ml product would be £18 (ouch!).

Apparently other people got false eyelashes instead of the face balm – which would could have been a very lovely product to try out as well – even though I’ve never worn falsies, and the only time I tried I failed oh-so-miserably. (Maybe it was because they were £1 ones from Poundland…) However, I much prefer the face balm sample.

Overall impression: I like this box. Lots of little products to try, and a few full size ones as well. Very well-balanced too. I might stick around for next month’s box! =)

Specifications: it’s a £9 box, with £2.95 for postage and packaging. This first box is now sold out, but the second one still seems to have the 25% discount (if it’s your first one).

PS: Don’t forget to Like my Facebook page if you haven’t already. =)

4 Responses to “She Said Beauty Box March 2012 Review”

  1. Elle March 1, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

    Great review!

    Sounds like you got some really nice products, I’d seen it advertised and was keen to see what as in it :)

    Elle xx
    http://www.beautyshewrote.info

    • clairecommando March 1, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

      Awwh, thanks so much Elle! They really do seem like very nice products, yes :) xx

  2. Ellen March 3, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    Glad u like our 10ml Premae Harmony Balm,
    50ml £18 http://premaeskincare.com/face/moisturisers/premae-harmony-face-balm

    • clairecommando March 3, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

      It’s awesome! The smell is so lovely, and it all feels very luxurious. An ideal sample in a beauty box! :)

Let me know what you think! =)

