What’s in my make-up bag?

31 Jan

I don’t wear a lot of make-up. I don’t even wear make-up all that often. Until recently, I had always worn at least a little concealer every day, but in the past year or two my skin has relatively cleared up, so I often wear no make-up at all. Obviously, I always put on a little something if I’m going out on a special occasion or if I need to go to an important meeting, and I love owning make-up products, but yeah, I don’t have any everyday-make-up-routines.

Even though it sounds like I’m not really interested in make-up at all, I really do love beauty products, as well as lots of beauty-related things on the internet (blogs! youtube channels! reviews!). So today I bring to you the contents of my make-up bag. I love reading posts like this on other blogs, mainly because I love to pry and look at what other people use and love, and also because I often discover some pretty amazing products just by reading recommendations from similar posts.

These products are not all the make-up products that I own, because I have a bunch of stuff back in Malta (mostly eyeshadow palettes or other mascaras/lip glosses/lipsticks which are inferior to what I have here and which I don’t really use much anyway). So here are my favourite make-up products, and what I have in my make-up bag:

The first photo (above) shows my current make-up bag; it’s just a very plain transparent plastic pocket, with white piping and a white zip. Nothing too exciting. (And I like to be able to see all my stuff without having to dig into a pile of stuff.)

So first we have my pitiful collection of make-up brushes. A big fluffy one for my powder and blusher, and a little one for my eye shadow.

Next we have my mini-collection of eye shadows. Three Daniel Sandler ones (the middle one is my absolute favourite – so pretty and shimmery), and a little Blink+Go eye shadow palette with neutral colours (I got this from the December GlossyBox).

Daniel Sandler Eye Delight in Peach (the middle one) (from a Carmine beauty box)

Daniel Sandler 808 Dimensional Shadow (the purple one)

Daniel Sandler Sheer Satin Shadow (the beige one) (the number has rubbed off on this one)

Blink+Go Palette

These are my two concealers. The Rimmel one has been a staple, but last week I bought the Collection 2000 one after reading amazing reviews online. I was a bit nervous about using a lip gloss type applicator for concealer (I’ve never been a fan of that), but this truly is an excellent (and cheap) concealer.

Rimmel Hide the Blemish Concealer in Ivory 001

Collection 2000 Lasting Perfection Concealer in Light 2

A few lip products. I have rather sizeable lips, so I usually just apply a little lip gloss and that’s it, but I’ve been experimenting with a few lipsticks and lip stains over the years.

Victoria’s Secret Beauty Rush Lip Gloss

Cargo Lip Gloss (from the December GlossyBox)

Revlon Just Bitten Lip Stain and Balm

Avon Glazewear Silky Shine Lipstick (seems to be unavailable or discontinued though)

The other lipstick is in the colour 500 Diva Red, but I don’t know what brand it is. It had been given to me after using it for a few performances I had been in a few years ago. I don’t use it all that often, but it’s a very bright red that’s useful for the “pop” that I sometimes want.

War-paint time! I don’t really wear much foundation, but if I do I use Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse foundation (a Daniel Sandler one back in Malta). I’ve always loved the Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder, and I’ve recently sampled and then purchased the new Garnier B.B. cream – which is similar to a tinted moisturiser with light coverage. Pretty good, especially since I only want foundation to even my skin tone a little.

Blushers! I got the Fratboy one in a Carmine beauty box. Very, very effective (a little goes a long way). The MAC blush was a splurge-y purchase when I went to Cyprus last summer… I wouldn’t normally spend 19 euro on a tiny beauty product, but I desperately needed some blusher, and I had never bought any (super-coveted) MAC products before! The shade is Mocha and it is a delightful soft plum/pink shade.

Finally, a few miscellaneous items.

Anna Sui 002 lipstick – this is very glittery and very posh. I don’t use it as a lipstick (unless it’s carnival or something similarly costume-y), but I love smearing it lightly over my eyelids sometimes, for a really long-wearing layer of glitter. It smells amazing too.

L’Oréal Paris Voluminous Mascara – this is my favourite mascara of LIFE. I’ve tried lots of others, but this is my absolute favourite.

A black kohl eye liner. This used to be my mum’s, but I’ve been using it for the past couple of years. Yes, it’s very old and battered but it still achieves the nicest black line, better than any other liner in my opinion. (I can’t remember the brand.)

Avon “color trend pencil play eyeliner” in turquoise. Very cheap, moderately effective, and a nice bright colour.

Stila Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner in moray (a sort of shimmery dark green). This is an excellent eye liner. Very pigmented, extremely long-lasting, a nice (different) colour. (I got this in my October GlossyBox.)

So there you have it! My make-up products of the moment. Some are staples, and some are very recent additions. If you’ve liked this sort of post I might do a similar one with hair products, or other beauty products. We’ll see. =)

PS: have you noticed my new bedsheets? They’re so stripy and fresh and crisp and pretty! They even have frilly edges. Love. (Got them from the H&M online sale. Awesome.)

4 Responses to “What’s in my make-up bag?”

  1. Cherise January 31, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    Haha binti, I think my first eyeliner was exactly like your black kohl eyeliner. Same cap and all. And like you said, nothing I’ve used thereafter has every compared. XD

    <3 the sheets! :D

    • clairecommando January 31, 2012 at 10:12 am #

      Yay, the eyeliner is awesome.
      Thanks re. the sheets! They’re the BEST. :D

  2. Raylene January 31, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    The only pencil eyeliner I’ve ever used is a cheapy Lm0.75c Elle eyeliner. I still buy it now and have about 3 running around!

Let me know what you think! =)

