Inbox Zero

3 Jan

I had heard about Inbox Zero a few years ago.. At the time, when I looked at my Gmail inbox, which stood at a few hundred emails deep, I thought it was an impossible task.

Then one day, I thought I’d give it a try. The ‘Archive’ button became my best friend, and deleting emails I knew I didn’t need (such as definite junk mail) was strangely cathartic. Searching for particular words (e.g. ‘Facebook’) really helped when I wanted to delete emails in bulk.

It was a surprisingly quick process, and very soon I earned the coveted Inbox Zero badge (only not really… I only found this badge online a few months ago).

(from http://bblinks.blogspot.com/2010/03/inbox-zero-nerd-merit-badge.html)

I highly recommend Inbox Zero. It helps me focus on the emails that I only recently received, and means I don’t need to wade through a mess of irrelevant messages before getting to the one I want. Gmail’s search function is pretty good too, so that takes care of the situation where I’d need to find a particular email that’s from ‘my past’.

My inbox today is only occasionally completely empty, but the emails I would have still in it would act as a sort of ‘To-do’ list, since I’d know I’d need to do something before I can clear them into my Archive.

This is an excellent post about Inbox Zero (or Inbox Heaven).

(It really is.)

3 Responses to “Inbox Zero”

  1. Colette January 3, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    Another neat way to de-clutter your inbox is to create filters and labels to send emails directly to these labels/folders. This way some not so important news letters or Facebook messages will not clutter your inbox.

    • clairecommando January 3, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

      That is so true. I love my colour-coded labels :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Things I Love Thursday « Claire's (online) Chronicles - January 26, 2012

    […] Emails (and Inbox Zero) […]

Let me know what you think! =)

