London, baby.

25 Jun

I’m heading down south to London tonight, for just over a week. It’s my first time in London since a quick stopover on the way to Iceland in February 2011, so I’m very eager to visit one of my favourite cities once again.

Here are a few ideas on my wish list of Things To Do in London:

  • Admire Big Ben – particularly when it’s dark. Big Ben is probably my favourite London landmark – it’s so grand and beautiful. (And yes, I know that Big Ben technically refers to the bell and not the clock tower! But you know what I mean.)
  • Research trips to the National Archives and the British Library – hopefully productive trips
  • A show or two (Les Misérables is the top one on my list – even if it will be the fifth time I’ll be watching it…)
  • A few good restaurants – now, I can’t afford “good” restaurants, but at least I want some good (maybe even one-of-a-kind) food. I wonder if I can find puffin in London…
  • Spitalfields market
  • Eat Indian/Pakistani/Bangladeshi food on Brick Lane
  • The National Portrait Gallery (always.)
  • Maybe take a dip in a pool?
  • Preview the Olympic madness
  • Drink some obscure cider at pubs outside the centre
  • Or else we could just visit every single Sam Smith pub in London
  • Spend some quality time sauntering around parks
  • Go on the Thames in a boat (like THE QUEEN)
  • Borough market
  • The Imperial War Museum (probably my favourite museum ever, and I haven’t been in YEARS)
  • Beautiful book stores
  • Eat a cupcake from a Hummingbird Bakery shop

*so excited* Send me more suggestions if you have any! As you can see, I’m a history nerd who likes food, books, and cupcakes.

7 Responses to “London, baby.”

  1. Raylene June 25, 2012 at 10:23 am #

    It worries me that you’re going to London and haven’t mentioned shopping… :/

    Check out the Ice Bar and when you’re there go down to the restaurant and try the Dragonfruit Sorbet…delicious AND gorgeous! :)

    • clairecommando June 25, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

      COOL! Thanks for the suggestion.
      And re. shopping – markets and book stores = a lot of money will be spent :P
      And I pretty much can’t resist a Primark store, so I’ll definitely pop into one of those :P

  2. rachelracket June 25, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    Hummingbird bakery cupcakes are absolutely GLORIOUS!

  3. rachelracket June 25, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    …oooh, and as for show ideas, does Sweeney Todd sound like fun to you? The film was super, but the play is on in London – and guess what, Imelda Staunton (!) is in it. Totally going to try my best to sneak off to London and perhaps see it in September, if all goes well with my exams.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sunday Photo Mishmash: frozen yoghurt, my best friend visits, London London London, museums, and choosing books « Claire's (online) Chronicles - July 8, 2012

    [...] you might have seen in my happy London post, I was in London last week and at the beginning of this week. We had an absolutely fantastic time, [...]

Let me know what you think! =)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

